Political Institutions: United Kingdom

UK Parliament: general | House of Commons | House of Lords | HM Government


UK Parliament: general


CC Image courtesy of UK Parliament. Parliamentary copyright images are reproduced with the permission of Parliament

House of Commons

The House of Commons consists of 650 Members of Parliament (MPs), each of whom represents a single constituency.

House of Lords

Members of the House of Lords are known as "Lords of Parliament". The House of Lords does not have a fixed number of members.

HM Government

The United Kingdom currently has a Conservative party goverment, formed on the 9 May 2015.